Elders and Deacons

Meet our church officers and learn how they serve our church


Current Elders:

Name / Class of:

Ray Fernandez-Andes (2021)

Landy Glavach (2021)

Damian Lue (2021)

Richard Morin (2021)

Alex Barrero (2022)

George Hoffman (2022)

Stanley Kowlessar (2022)

Pete Waldman (2022)

Jim Bozek (2023)

George Brown (2023)

Drew Kern (2023)

Michael Larson (2023)

Art Baumann (2024)

Rick Cook (2024)

Hector Padron (2024)

Esmond Scott (2024)

Robert Wright (2024)

Dr. Mike Campbell (Teaching Elder)

The Elder and His Duties

Within the class of elder are the two orders of teaching elders and ruling elders. The elders jointly have the government and spiritual oversight of the Church, including teaching. Only those elders who are specially gifted, called and trained by God to preach may serve as teaching elders. 

1: Oversee / Rule

To watch diligently over the flock committed to their charge, that no corruption of doctrine or morals enter in

To exercise government and discipline

To take oversight of the spiritual interests of the particular church, and the Church generally when called

2: Shepherd

To visit the people at their homes, especially the sick

To pray with and for the people, being careful and diligent in seeking the fruit of the preached Word among the flock

To bear glad tiding of salvation to the ignorant and perishing

To dispense the manifold grace of God and the ordinances instituted by Christ

To administer the Sacraments

3: Instruct

To instruct the ignorant, comfort the mourner, nourish and guard the children of the church

To set a worthy example to the flock entrusted to their care by zeal in evangelizing the unconverted and in making disciples

To feed the flock by reading, expounding and preaching the Word of God

To declare the will of God to sinners and beseech them to be reconciled to God through Christ

To proclaim the Gospel


Current Deacons:

Luis Carrillo (2021)

Robb Hilson (2021)

Steve Martinez (2021)

Corey Swenson (2021)

Richard Woods (2021)

Felix Amador (2022)

Adam Robbins (2022)

Wally Allen (2023)

Alex Fundora (2023)

Guedy Saint-Germain (2023)

Francis Lee (2023)

Richard Woods Jr. (2023)

Adolph Barclay (2024)

Joel Davis (2024)

Adam Gaschott (2024)

Nathan Hays (2024)

Mickey Lopez (2024)

Tony Mercadal (2024)

The Deacon and His Duties

The office of deacon is not one of rule, but rather of service both to the physical and spiritual needs of the people.

1: Mercy

 To minister to those who are in need, to the sick, to the friendless, and to any who may be in distress

To develop the grace of liberality in the members of the church

2: Finance

To devise effective methods of collecting the gifts of the people

To distribute these gifts among the objects to which they are contributed

To care for the property of the congregation, both real and personal

3: Building

To keep the church edifice and other buildings in proper repair

Requirements for Officer Nominations

Nominations for elders and deacons take place once a year.

Communication about nominations will take place as the date nears.

To nominate a man for office, you must be a communicant member of Old Cutler Presbyterian Church.

All nominees must be active male members in good standing of Old Cutler Presbyterian Church, having been a member for one year.

Please ask the nominee if he is willing to be nominated for office.

All officers must be able to adopt our Confessional Standards and form of government.